Violas Chapter 2

Hellow

Chapter 2

Feeling lightheaded and hazy, Ismene was slowly awoken to the sight of fluttering white curtains. The tranquil breeze blew inside the room, filling her with a sensation that bordered her dreams. When she tried to move, her body felt too heavy and she slumped back into the soft mattress. Her breathing was cold but she could feel the warmth of life burning inside her.

As her mind slowly departed from the realm of sleep and into reality, she felt the questions flooding within. Perhaps it was because her previous memory tells of her acceptance of death—or just because she is still half-asleep—but she felt no sense of danger in this strange place that she stumbled into.

Her senses soon caught wind of a nostalgic humming inside the room. Forcing herself to turn, her weary eyes came to see the person she bid her final farewell. Seated in a desk in the face of disassembled firearms, cleaning materials, and oil, she was humming a song that they were both familiar with.

When the girl caught the movements in the bed, she quickly jumped out of her seat, spilling screws and springs into the floor. Surprised and confused, she did not know where to begin and just grabbed a towel to clean her hands before sitting beside the one who just woke up.

“Calm down, calm down,” she said as she walked nearer, oblivious to the fact that she was the one who needed to slow down, “I know that you have quest—”

When she reached the mattress, Ismene spared no second to wrap her arms around her and pulled her close. Genuine in her act of affection, her heart overflowed with so much joy that it spilled in her eye.

“I’m alive, aren’t I?” Ismene cried as she held Myra closer, afraid of letting go.

“Yeah,” Myra replied, comforting her, “And I am here with you.”

 

Myra

Before the sun could rise, I rose up from our bed and hurried down the kitchen. Flour, egg, milk, sugar, cinnamon, butter, and so on; I prepared all the ingredients in a bowl and set off to work. Humming with a cheerful song as I labored in my craft, I welcomed the arrival of the sun with the sweet scent of bread and coffee. By the time I finished, my ears caught the sound of squeaking wheels. I turned to see Ismene, still drowsy and yawning as she made her way towards the table.

“Morning,” she yawned. Her clothes were ruffled and her hair was tangled—proof of a good sleep.

“Morning,” I returned as I sprinkled cinnamon on the warm bread and poured her a cup of coffee.

The scent of the caffeine alone was enough to awaken her and she slowly brightened up. Her pale colors were enlivened and the constricted blood vessels all loosened up. Added with the taste of my bread, she smiled, knowing that our day had just begun.

It’s been three months since the day I visited the sanatorium and our mood today was something that we thought could only exist within a fantasy. From a world of grief and tragedy, our lives were now spent in an idle world of peace. Under the scent of bread and sugar, our humble home was filled with the warmth and sweetness that made the battlefield seem all but a bad dream that was not welcomed in this peaceful world.

“I tried a different recipe today. What do you think?” I asked, confident of my skills.

“I love it,” she replied at once, then grabbed another piece.

Her actions speak no lies. After sipping on another cup of coffee, she spoke again.

“We are having so much fun here, I really feel bad. I feel like I’m cheating while everyone is hard at work.”

“Don’t worry about it,” I replied automatically, “Rest is part of our job. They want to keep you alive for propaganda and morale purposes.

“It’s getting peaceful lately anyway. Our absence won’t be so noticeable,” I added “For now, we are on standby until further notice. Let’s enjoy it while it lasts.”

The look of guilt was still clear on her face but she was obedient enough to not discuss it further. The rest of the morning was spent in a mundane exchange of small chatter and the enjoyment of a calm atmosphere. Before noon, we wrapped ourselves in our winter garments and prepared for our leisure walks. The moment our door opened up, we were assailed by a cold breeze that blew some snow upon us.

What laid before us was a landscape told in fairy tales. In the distance stood the mountain’s gentle slope, enveloped in snow and luxuriously covered in evergreen trees. The sight of its white and green foliage was something to behold. And from its rocks pours a cascade of clear water that flows down to the land below as a large and gentle river that runs along our home. With it comes the soothing music of the water that courses through the stones.

I took a deep breath in, then, breathed out loudly. The blissful sensation of the mountain’s air is just next to none.

Ismene followed behind me. She was wearing a thinner jacket lined at the ends with a fluffy layer of cotton. Her legs were covered by a blanket and on her lap is a basket.

“Do you really need a basket that big?” I asked as she rolled her wheels closer.

“I am returning some books and I am also planning to borrow some more,” she replied.

Then, I grabbed on her chair’s handlebars and guided her wheels on the wooden dock. At the end of the walk was a little boat that was covered in tarp to protect from snow. The road was difficult to traverse due to the snow so this was truly the best way of transportation we had.

After I prepared the boat, Ismene first handed me her basket before she slowly stood up from her chair. I assisted her as she made her way inside. Her legs had been improving steadily in the past few weeks but it was still not something that you could trust for long walks. When she was finally seated comfortably, I folded her wheelchair and took it along with us,

When everything was prepared, I untied our boat and began rowing along the calm water. The gentle rocking of our boat was accompanied by the sonorous hymn of the water’s flow. The forest was thickly buried in snow and frozen icicles hung upon the branches of trees. Our smiles peeked through when we chanced upon the sight of a deer and her fawn staring at us from the other side. It was a lovely winter wonderland.

It wasn’t long until we saw the sight of the city that lined the riverside with houses and stone bridges. Beautiful homes designed with a lovely artistry stood gallant in their simple and varied colors, greeting us with their lively decors. As we rowed our boat further inside the town, we saw more of its hidden splendor. Pathways were made from clobber stones that were intricately designed in a flower pattern. Along the road lined lampposts of gothic theme that matched the pavement’s design. Stone bridges arch high as they connect all the city blocks while still keeping the boats unhindered in the waterways even if it’s a high tide.

It was a city whose history was carved under the millennia of good relationship with seafarers and traders. Tales of its camaraderie with the bounties of the ocean can be read along its walls. But no matter how beautiful it was, it had one glaring flaw; there was no one around. For an hour meant for the busy clatter of shops and leisure walks, the place was completely barren of any sort of activity. Nothing but the howl of the breeze and the arrival of the city’s only guest could be heard in this domain.

After reaching our stop, I quickly jumped out and tied our boat. Then, I unfolded Ismene’s chair and reach my hand over. Ismene held on to me as she made her way out of the boat.

After that, she set her basket on her lap then said, “Come on, come on. I might pay the library penalty if I fail to return this on time.”

“Yeah, yeah. Such a slave driver you are,” I replied before pushing her wheels down the cold road.

The sound of my footsteps and the squeaking of her wheels echoed loudly through the forest of concrete. All the activity that used to bustle here was gone. But it was not lonely at all for paws and hooves of dogs, deer, and other animals were imprinted on the snow. Little animals could even be seen peeking shyly from the other blocks.

The library stood as the city’s proudest symbol. It was a giant building ornamented by the relics of history of warfare, conquest, and the ever growing quest for knowledge and wisdom. Sturdy walls and little windows denote the days when it was used as a military stronghold against guns and explosives alike. But as the political landscape settled and united in favor of peace, its purpose was renewed to give solace to books and records that everyone can freely read to their hearts content. To think that the same walls that saw the battle cries of fire and bloodshed shall be the same walls that would welcome the students who yearn to know more about the world. It’s almost as if we were looking at a great warrior who retired from the battlefield and now spends his time telling his grandchildren all the tales of his time.

The entrance was a giant wooden door with the carvings of saints and angels engraved on its solid wood. And though it was unlocked, the sheer weight combined with its rusted and frozen hinges made it impossible to be opened by a normal person. Putting a little bit of force in my arms and legs, I pushed the door open and we were immediately welcomed by the scent of old books and dusty shelves.

Ismene’s excitement couldn’t be contained anymore and she took liberty of rolling inside the building before I could fully open the doors. After she passed, I closed it back to prevent the snow and draft from damaging the papers.

“I’m on time, I’m on time,” Ismene sang happily as she placed her books on the reception table.

Just like the entire city, the place was completely abandoned of any signs of life but all the valuable pieces of literature are all still mint on the shelves, waiting to be held and read again.

As Ismene logged in her transactions on the library card, I turned my eye on the interior of the building and the stunning engineering behind it. Three great floors of astonishing sizes were all connected by the grand staircases whose steps were all wrapped in red carpet. Above us was a ceiling that loomed heavily with its kaleidoscopic glass murals that were a perfect match to the chandeliers that hung upon it. It was a place that was truly worthy of giving host to the endless shelves of priceless and sacred writings. So beautiful was the place that even a non-reader like me felt convinced that I’m missing out on life if I came in without reading a novel or two. God knows how much joy a complete bookworm like Ismene feels every time she catches the scent of old books.

“I’m done!” Ismene said, delighted beyond measure, “I’ll just put them back and then, it’s time to get some new ones.”

She said she’ll do it but, obviously, both will be my job for she cannot just reach for the books on the top of the shelf.

“You don’t really need to do this every time, you know.”

“What are you saying? You can’t borrow a book without a library card.”

“Well, yeah,” I think twice before stating the obvious, “But there’s no one here. No one would care if you borrow anything.”

“True. But it’s impossible to read if you are troubled by guilt over violating the rules. Especially when it is something that is reasonable.”

“Touché.”

I admitted defeat with a sigh and just followed her lead as she returned them all back to their original shelves one by one. Naturally, wheels cannot climb up the staircases. Luckily, the library has a ramp on the rear edges that were meant for moving carts of books and heavy furniture alike, which we used to move her wheels up to the next floors. Along the way, she also grabbed some new ones that she can hardly wait to read.

Tremendously giddy, she frolicked through all the shelves, browsing through every title and teasing herself with a few pages before stuffing them inside her basket. By the time she was done, the weight that I was pushing gained quite a lot. Ismene was noticeably saddened after reaching her limits but she agreed to descend back down to the ground floor where we reaped our bountiful harvest. Well, not before she was done logging it on her library card.

Fantasy, romance, horror, drama, Ismene’s taste for fictional books were of a great variety and the authors are all well-named among the finest revolutionaries in the field of literature and philosophy. I, on the other hand, had my fancy caught by recipe books about cakes, cookies, and other pastries. Simple books to ask for a hobby I am passionate about.

After Ismene was done, we set them all down on table, eager for the world of wonder and awe. Ismene especially lost herself within the first few pages, her eyes brimming bright with the vividness of her imaginative world; an engrossment that was only broken after I opened my basket and the scent of bread wafted through. Tarts and buns, treats that suit the mood of leisure stroll.

But Ismene did not seem to appreciate it as she opened her mouth and said, “Hey! Eating in the library is forbid—”

I did not let her finish as I stuffed her mouth right at once with a piece of tart.

“I’ll clean it all up later, okay?” I assured her.

She was still upset but she couldn’t hide the fact that she is quite hungry as well so she just agreed to turn a blind eye over our small act of mischief.

All alone in this castle of books, we immersed ourselves in the company of papers. Our silence was of a meaningful calm where the time silently passed through the taste of sugar and daydreams. That, and the solemn company of one another.

It was beyond me when I fell asleep but from my dreams of music and clouds, I was woken up by Ismene’s gentle nudge. Cracking my drowsy eyes open, I came to realize the blanket that was wrapped around me after I slept on the table.

“Hey, wake up. We’re going be late,” she told me as I slowly regained my consciousness.

“Huh?” was the only word that my half-asleep mind managed to muster.

“The meteor shower,” she replied.

In an instant, I was woken up after hearing the great news.

“The meteors are coming in soon. We need to leave.”

I stretched my arms and legs to bring life back to them. Then, with a grunt and a loud exhale, my sleepy head was replaced with a newfound excitement.

“Alright,” I said, “Is everything ready?”

“Yes,” Ismene replied at once.

I looked around to make sure and her new books had already been stuffed inside the basket and there was no mess left on the table. It was a sad thing to say goodbye to this place that we both love but the day hadn’t ended yet. With hearts full of anticipation, I opened the door out of library and into the beautiful world that hides in the night.

The structures that were once frozen and abandoned now bloom in a magnificent spectacle. Every freezing bulb was brought to life as they shined their light along with the thousands that awakened with the call of the evening clock. Houses flared with a radiance that brought warmth to their cold stones. Along the pathway, lampposts glow bright and strong as they lit the dark paths. The waters in the canals glimmered along with the joyous theme of the city.

A festivity for the time of sleep, in the season of dreams, such was the philosophy that this city believes in. But for its splendor, it was all but a worthy salute to the light show high above.

An aurora borealis set the night sky aflame with a conflagration of its burning blue, green, and orange hues. Its gentle flares flowed in a river that spilled through the starry night’s sky, dispelling the darkness with its overflowing colors. And by its celestial flames, it sang a symphony that enchanted the evening with its brazen melodies.

All this was just for the two of us.

Mesmerized by the new sight that we beheld, all we could do was marvel to our hearts content. We were held spellbound by the song of the stars. Paying heed to the theme of the night, I invited Ismene to join me for a dance.

Like a princely suitor courting the hand of the princess, I knelt in front of Ismene and gave light to the words that sounded the interlude for this evening of heavenly songs.

“Shall we dance?” I asked of her, my tone empty of humor.

She then smiled as she lent me her hand, “Of course.”

Clutching her firmly, I was her support as she tried to stand. When her legs showed weakness, I welcomed her to my chest. Bodies pressed together, we felt the warmth of each other against our skin. Every beat of our hearts sounded loud with a jubilant joy, as if singing along with the music.

Holding her close and dear, I guided her as we took off in gentle sways that honored the ballad of the city of lights. Every step of our little waltz was serenaded by the symphony that only us can hear. With only the two of us to cherish this divine event, we were the season’s honored guest. In honest smiles and slow little steps, we graced this little world of ours with the sonorous hymn of our innocent laughs. This was the moment in time from which happiness was defined.

Thus, we danced as the theater of the evening reached its crescendo.

“That was so much fun,” said Ismene.

She slumped her body on our boat. She was obviously tired but she was overjoyed in every angle.

“Yeah, me too,” I replied as I rowed our boat through the river.

After our high-spirited celebration was over, our way back home transcended into the mood of a calm and serene boat ride. The full moon above displayed a radiant bloom that guided our watery road with her white glow. On her company were the innumerable stars that hung alongside the luminous green and blue curtains that continued to sway elegantly as the night deepens.

Our watery path glimmered as the celestial lights were mirrored through its coursing waters. The soothing breeze blew us a cold but gentle whisper as we slowly made our way back. But weary as we were, the show had yet to reach its grand finale.

“How long until the star shower starts?” I asked as I guided our boat.

We had so much fun dancing at the square that we almost forgot about what we came here for. I couldn’t believe we actually still had some time to spare after all we did.

“It’s going to start soon,” Ismene assured as she stared at the constellations.

She had always been the smarter one between the two of us. She can tell the precise date and time using nothing but the star alignments.

She then rocked the boat a bit when she relaxed her legs and laid her back on the boat’s deck.

“Hey! Come over here,” she called out in her relaxed position.

Her voice was inviting and the pale shine of the moon gave light to her alluring smile. With a sigh, I just returned the gesture and went on with her sudden request. I put the oar away and moved over to her side. It was surprisingly wide and fit the two of us easily.

boat

Leaving our boat to the calm course of the river, we snuggled close to each other as we stared at the brilliant night sky. Ismene was grinning from ear to ear as the day that had just gone by kept repeating itself in our heads. Such was her joy that even I felt myself being taken by her mood as we awaited the closure of our night.

When the first streaks of light fell, we returned its greetings with eyes that sparkled with amusement and lips that opened, stunned by the sight. In the next few seconds, the stars threw their spears by the hundreds. Like drops of rain in a sunny day, the light streaks cascaded with a music of its own. Though each one lasted only in a blink, they all left their parting gifts in the sight that we could never forget.

With the night finally reaching its peak, we held each other’s hand, mesmerized by the evening’s final and greatest spark.

“Hey,” Ismene called out with a voice that sounded broken with the tears of joy, “Do you think that we can be this happy forever?”

“Of course.”

That was the lie I told.

Lying on the bed alongside Ismene, I waited until she was already deep asleep before I walked out of the room without making a single sound. Down to the living room, I made haste in wearing my jacket again and I took an empty duffel bag with me. When I made it outside of our door, I saw none of the land that once filled the two of us with wonder and awe.

The sky that once boasted a parade of lights was now barren of such luxury. What it had in its place were large looming clouds that made the night filled with peril and fear. The wind that once blew gently now blew strongly as it whipped its bitter cold gale against the mountain. The forest that was home to innumerable wildlife was now a menacing world haunted by the shadows of sharp branches that bite and tear. The river that once glimmered in its gentle, soothing flow now runs loud as the violent wind stirred it to a fierce turbulence.

This was the night of the hunt and I am the huntress on the prowl.

With a deep breath, I reawakened my heart. I made my mind empty and let my legs take me into a dash that crossed the water’s surface. In an instant, I became one with the night.

As I disturbed the land with the noise of my hasty legs, I scanned the perimeter of our territory. There was not a single sign that could raise a threat but I knew that they were here. Thus, in precise and accurate steps, I traversed the forest and only took my stop at the area where the fangs were hidden. From the poisoned spikes of branches and the rocks that were sharpened as a trap, were various sorts of weapons, explosives, and ammunition that I hung as a warning for those who seek my presence.

From simple handguns and combat knives, to high-powered rifles, machineguns, and recoilless rifles, even up to explosive devices such as claymore mines and C4; they all hung around the branches of every tree. Each one of them carried a story of how their previous owners used them to fight. But now, they served as nothing more than a reminder of how far I had fallen.

When I grabbed onto my weapon of choice for tonight, I grit my teeth as I felt the disgust in me swelling up.

“Is this really who I am?”

I asked the question again. And once more, all the answer I had was the wind’s eerie call. Every time I do this, there isn’t a moment where my legs wouldn’t tremble and beg me to turn away. But it was too late to back away now.

A battle rifle, a sniper rifle, a bag filled with ammunition and grenades, and a dagger. I hung them all on my body. I was so heavy that my legs sunk deep in the snow; however, this was a trivial concern for a gem user. After I secured everything, I proceeded to the place where I was to meet them.

Back in the days of peace, this land was once among the most beautiful sanctuaries one could wish for. A laid back life among the wonders of nature was the culture that the people followed. But, as it turned out, its beauty was just a pretense for its outrageous potential as a strategic point. High mountains, strong winds, and thin atmosphere posed a serious threat to aircraft. Lush forests and unpredictable weathers made parachuting missions a complete suicide. And the stark slope of the mountain roads made the passage of heavy armored vehicles an impossible feat.

This theater welcomes only the most enduring infantry and light vehicles. And the only way for them to get through was either to ride the stream or cross the mountain road. Between the two, only one offered cover; a vital asset if you wish to challenge someone so strong.

A dozen kilometers away, I finally caught the sound of roaring engines and wheels on the road. Setting up my guns, I watched from the distance as the lights of the vehicles illuminated the dark road. An IFV was quickly leading the charge as they advanced towards the town. Behind it came two trucks filled to the brim with soldiers and various sorts of weaponry and medicinal equipment. It was a large force to send for a single target but I knew well that these people will never underestimate an enemy with such a reputation.

“You should have listened to my warning,” I spoke after I loaded my gun.

Then, at the same time, the evening was torn apart by the sound of a massive explosion. One of the trucks successfully triggered a batch of anti-tank mines that I buried in the road, causing it to jump in screaming flames. The rest of the vehicles stopped and the soldiers inside came rushing to aid their comrades who were still alive underneath the fiery rubble.

Completely exposed by the light of the fire, they were all easy targets but I digressed and just observed them for a bit longer. Fourteen, I counted them; survivors that were frantically trying to rescue their friends, or what’s left of them. There was no discerning which one was the officer as everyone was working together. However, one was clearly a gem user as she was carrying more arms than a person should be able to. Beside them, the IFV remains parked and its crew had yet to disembark from their armored vehicle.

Patiently, I weighed my targets. The gem user was a priority target but at my distance, she would most likely see the flash of my gun first before the bullet reached her, causing me to waste my chance. The IFV was no better for it was armed with shells that could ruin my cover and lay indirect fire support. My rifle cannot penetrate its armor but I can hit its camera and radar to render its night fighting capabilities over.

Before they could fully extinguish the fire, I fired the shot and they were instantly awakened to their defensive formation. No one was hit but the sound of the shot made them all flee to the nearest cover. Taking advantage of their confusion, I immediately fired the second shot and this time, the camera of their armored vehicle was destroyed in a quick spark and shower of glass.

In the second flash, they had confirmed my location and quickly retaliated by firing at me. They were all blind shots but some managed to dangerously zoom a few inches from me.

Their shots were halted when, out of nowhere, their second truck jumped in another explosion. The first shot was not a miss and was aimed at the truck’s fuel tank. Without their knowing, the fuel spilled and when the flammable trail reached the existing fire, it triggered a chain reaction that caused three soldiers to catch fire and flee in panic. The flown shards of steel had also done the work of destroying the IFV’s radar. But the biggest loss was whatever extra weapons and equipment they had in there were now gone in flames.

I had successfully destroyed their only way of retreat and they were now left with no choice but to face me—something that probably harmed me more.

A surprise attack can only last for five minutes and when I lost that advantage, their emotional response was a serious one. Though they were behind cover, I knew that the gem user was giving out various commands to her men that not only re-coordinated them, but also made connections with the commanders inside the remaining vehicle.

Though blinded, the IFV was still functional and its turret rotated towards my direction. Then, the gem user fired a batch of smoke grenades before she jumped out of her cover and fired bursts after burst of cover fire as she charged towards me with great speed. The rest of the foot soldiers followed her lead, firing every now and then as they advanced from one cover to the next.

The advantage of distance and stealth was still on my side, but with a gem user leading the charge, it was wiser to leave before I get pinned. Thus, I traded the sniper rifle for a faster and more maneuverable battle rifle before charging back.

My descent down the slope was welcomed warmly by an exchange of fire from the gem user who had already detected my presence. In response, I slid further down, using the logs and snow as cover. The few bullets I fired at her only bit me as the flashes and noise confirmed my location and made her fire even more intensively. Though she was not stingy in her ammo, she was not trigger-happy either for her firing was accurate and precise, giving me the impression that they did not send me a random warrior but someone who was truly a veteran. What’s more was that this girl was completely aware of who I am and therefore had no intention of giving me a breather.

In the next second, the forest was shaken by the explosion caused by a shell that caused the earth to shake and trees to shower me in splinters. The IFV was firing and it did so within a dangerous radius. With the use of a radio, the gem user was giving coordinates to the commanders aboard. Though not exactly accurate, the radius of explosion was definitely holding me at bay. And to make things even worse, her subordinates were getting nearer and nearer, multiplying their fire power by multiple folds as they hit their effective range.

By focusing on my ears, I could easily discern that one or two of them were already taking advantage of the cover fire to flank me from the left. The IFV was just waiting for the next coordinates to be passed. Backed in a corner, I could only feel my own heart pumping hard.

They were all skilled and coordinated; men that I would love to fight side by side with had it not been too late for me.

“Yes, it is too late for me now,” I said in the wind before dropping my rifle to the ground.

Then, I threw a flash grenade and a smoke bomb out of my cover and after the deafening flash of light and smoke covered my area, I immediately jumped out. For a split second, they were all distracted but that split second was all I needed to turn the tide of battle.

Completely unarmed and unarmored, I sprinted out, dashing from the cover of the trees and letting them all fire their luck but to no avail. The tremendous amount of snow and shrubbery made it all difficult already but the darkness of the night was the real dealer.

Then, I made a leap and landed straight in the center of their left flank. Face to face with the soldiers that were attacking me, I saw the fear in their eyes as they saw my cold-hearted eyes gleaming through the moonless night.

Then blood splattered on my face.

The soldier that I just faced had his heart ripped through in a sickening crackle of broken bones. Using nothing but my own strength, I penetrated through his thick Kevlar armor, down to his chest bone, and right to his heart. The sudden release of pressure caused his red to spill in a gruesome shower. It took only a second for me to end his life but the sight of his light leaving his fearful eyes had carved itself amongst the nightmares that I could never escape.

Behind me, I heard his friend’s immediate response but before he could even pull the trigger, I caught the end of his barrel and crushed it on my palm. Then, I took my step forward and punched him in the neck. In order to maximize the psychological damage, I threw his body at the nearest group.

A person does not immediately die after the connection between the spine and the brain was cut by blunt damage. No, the brain would try to fix the problem by sending desperate signals over and over, which would cause every single nerve in his body to wriggle and jump in an uncoordinated manner. Such was the sight that the soldiers saw; their ally, half-dead and screaming in a voiceless cry for help was shaking and foaming uncontrollably.

I took advantage of their shock to crouch and pick up their friend’s machinegun, then emptied it on them. Their screams quickly resonated along with the noises of the gun. Three men fell to the ground in an instant as their heavy armor failed to protect them from the gun fire that I unleashed upon them. I knew that they were still alive but I ended it there as I quickly turned to my back, sensing something fast approaching.

It was the gem user and she charged at me with a bayonet that I managed to dodge at the last moment. Her teeth were bared in anger and wrath. Fed up with my dirty tricks, she just went on for a melee where everyone was equal. After missing the charge, she did not let her guard down as she quickly supported it by a one huge kick that hit my side and sent me flying for a few yards.

It was a hit that stunned me good and I scrambled for cover before I could take my next breath. There was no mistake, I saw her smiling before she landed a hit. My hunch was confirmed after, instead of firing shots that could force me out of cover, she began talking with a tone that made it seem as if she was more delighted to meet me than killing me.

“So the rumors were true, weren’t they?” she began to speak to me.

After losing so many men and being reduced to this state, her stance was still calm and mocking.

“The great hero who once held the resistance for all this years, massacring the invaders who dared to be a threat to our citizens, has turned her back from the world,” she said mockingly.

At first, I thought she was trying to distract me so the other soldiers could coordinate their positions and attack me in an unexpected angle. But I heard no footsteps getting closer at all. Her intention to talk was clear and the rest of her team was just waiting on guard, hoping not to fire anymore.

“We were sent here under the command that we need to eliminate a gem user who went   AWOL on us. Letting such a coward have his way would damage the reputation of the army and would break the trust of the officers to his subordinates. But if they were killed, they can have their purpose renewed as a warning for everyone else,” her voice then dropped down, “I just couldn’t accept it was you.

“They hid the news about your betrayal, you know that? Of how you raided an operation room and managed to sneak out a patient in the middle of the night towards some unknown location. They didn’t want the public to get ahold of that information. They wanted to continue to give us hope that there was still a hero that we could admire. One that would protect us in this time of need.”

Her voice then started sounding bitter, almost as if I could feel the pain in her heart.

“What kind of bad joke is this?

“Invaders, incompetent leaders, and now, even the very hero of this world has taken the coward’s way out,” her voice was shaking, “We don’t want to fight anymore.

 “The civilization of man is already tearing apart. Please, commander, let us return home for we need you more than you think,” she begged, “We are ready to forgive you for everything that you have done if only you would just fight with us again.”

I closed my eyes as I tried to understand what she felt. No matter how perfect this illusory peace may seem, it was still but a false façade and there goes not a moment where I fear the day that reality would come to bring me back to the world that I wished to abandon. But until then, this world of lies shall continue to remain untainted.

Finally finding my voice to speak, I called out to her, bearing the message that ended the discussion.

“The hero that you seek has long died,” I spoke out.

My voice of rejection made the air heavy with contempt but the truth had to be spoken.

“You will find no one here but a criminal who has no intent to fight under anyone’s flag.  If you wish to retreat, then you are free to leave. But stay any longer and you will be courting your own death.”

I then heard the cocking of a gun and I prepared myself for the inevitable. The machinegun that I stole had its magazine almost exhausted but I still have my dagger strapped on my leg which I equipped.

Before the chain of diplomacy was broken, she said, “If we cannot return with you on our side, then there will be no home for us to return to anymore.”

Her voice was now something that lacked any emotion. Cold and lifeless, it was as if she was full of so much despair that death was the only thing that could make her happy.

“If we are going to die, then please let it be by the hands of someone we all admire.”

Those were the last words that she left before they all bombarded my cover with a simultaneous launch of frag grenades and a large artillery fire from the IFV. The following explosion was so great that even I was unable to run appropriately and lost my footing from the following wind blast and splinters. I had no guns or explosives to return fire but thanks to the scattered smoke and snow, my movement was inevitably covered. Under the hail of bullets and arid smoke, I enclosed the gap between me and the gem user.

She must have thought that I would run but she was not surprised by my recklessness in the least. In that final moment, her lips curved into a smile and her eyes twinkled in joy.

A small word of gratitude she whispered to me, “Thank you.”

Then I sliced her throat.

Leaving nothing but a silvery streak of light, I put an end to her life. So clean was the line of death that even the straps of her helmet were cut. When she fell to down to her knees, her helmet fell as well, revealing her hair that was as red as blood.

When the sound of her body hitting the snow was sounded, I let my knife down and stood before the remaining soldiers as defenseless as possible. It was my signal for them to run, but they refused my invitation to leave. Instead, they all smiled, maddened souls who laughed in the face of death. Thus, I resumed the waltz that would not besmirch their valor.

The fires from their ravaged vehicles burned strong and made the night bright with its fiery light. The battle had ended with none of them taking their retreat. Right to the very end, they stood their ground and forced me to guide them to their maker. From warriors fit for battle, all that’s left of them was their cold flesh that decorated the land with the macabre of death. They suffered the same fate as the previous raid, and the ones before them. And so would the ones who would attack me again.

Or do they still have the capacity to send more heroes to their deaths? The answer does not concern me anymore.

In the silence of this dreadful night, I stood still as I was reminded of the days when I fought with, and for this people. For the sake of protecting the one I love, the chapter of my life had twisted its path. It’s funny to think that a hero who ended the life of so many would have the audacity to believe that she deserves to be happy.

My epiphany was then interrupted when the static noise of a radio was sounded.

“Squad 2, can you hear me?” the voice said.

Hearing that message made my blood run cold. But the following message made me lose into an animalistic fright.

“We have found a house by the lake. We are going to check it out.”

 

She arrived at the scene in an image that mirrored the most horrifying premonition. The blood that rushed in her veins felt frozen and frightened. Every branch that she soared through made her bleed with bruises and gashes. Her legs screamed in pain as if they were being torn apart and her own breathing was indistinguishable from a blood curling cry. Her heart raced in such a panic that she lost her own control over the limits of her body.

Her eyes widened upon the realizing that she was far too late.

Right at their own front door was the grisly sight of a soldier who was shot from the chest. His body was soaked in his own frozen blood. A few meters beside him was another fallen soldier who was charred beyond disfigurement, his armor was ripped apart and his own skull was open, giving the impression that he took a grenade blast at point blank. The front door was open but there was no sign of the any footsteps getting in, as if the soldiers tried to knock, only to be ambushed by the one who resided inside.

Questions after questions flooded Myra’s head as she saw more of the slaughter that occurred in their own backyard. One soldier after another laid lifeless on the snow, the images of horror were clear on their final moments. The voice of terror danced as her legs made her run around, begging for any clue. But not for so long as at the lake, she found her.

She stood on the bank of the river, the freezing water against her feet failed to make her feel any pain. She stared at the horizon with her back against Myra. Her clothes that were once white were now stained with the blood of the people who just came to face a side of her that was jagged by desire for battle. On her hand was a rifle that she held carelessly pointing down, fresh blood was still dripping on its bayonet. On her feet was the body of another soldier who she just ended. The flowing blood tinted the water red.

As the moon loomed low and bright, she stood with a stillness that was barren of any sign of weakness. Not even the horror of her murder made its impression on her. A person that was bred to kill without remorse or guilt, this was the same Ismene that Myra thought she would never see again.

Unable to formulate a reply but desperate for redemption, Myra tried to speak out.

“Listen, I can ex—”

“You said that the world is at peace, right?” Ismene immediately replied, her voice was cold and unforgiving, shutting Myra in an instant.

“I-I know that you will hate me bu—”

“You said that the world is at peace, right!?” Ismene shouted with a tone that hides a wounded rage.

“Y-yes,” Myra stammered in shame.

“That’s a relief.”

In the spur of a moment, Ismene’s vibrant voice right out. It was a voice filled with warmth and joy, a voice that defied the reality that they lived on. She then turned to show her face that was filled with a spirited smile and eyes that twinkle in glee. Then she said the words that made Myra shake.

“If that’s what Myra says, then it has to be true!”

massacre

It was here where Myra finally realized how far Ismene had fallen into madness. Long drowned in the sea of tragedies, her smile was a façade for her broken soul. Abandoned from the world, here stood the maiden who saw her purpose in the heart of another. Corrupted by her obsession, her eyes reflected a fanaticism that rejected the reality that she loathed. For the sake of the world that they held dear, she played the role of the fool.

In this little game of tag, they were bound to someday ask who is “it”. But until that day comes, they will protect this world of lies.

Thus, they have forsaken the world.

 

END OF BAD END #2

CONTINUE?

Yes / No

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.